The current lighthouse, built in 1839, is a 22-meter-high tapered tower with black and white bands. It was dedicated by Dom Pedro II and features a Fresnel lens from 1890. The lighthouse was upgraded to electric lighting in 1937 and is maintained by the Brazilian Navy. It serves as a significant aid to navigation, emitting white and red light beams visible from 38 nautical miles away. The site includes the Bahia Nautical Museum, which showcases maritime history and artifacts related to the transatlantic slave trade. Visitors can climb to the top of the lighthouse for panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Bay of All Saints. The fort and lighthouse are protected as historic structures by the National Institute of Historic and Artistic Heritage.